Deed of Settlement

On Saturday 10 March 2018, at Raketapauma Marae, south of Waiouru, Ngāti Rangi signed their Deed of Settlement with the Crown in respect of Ngāti Rangi’s historical Treaty of Waitangi claims. The Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations, Andrew Little signed on behalf of the Crown. This is a significant milestone in our journey to settlement; and while we are now at "base three", it is not the end of the journey.

Ngāti Rangi tēnā koutou, tēnā tātau.
Tākiri ana te rā ki runga o Ruapehu tāngata, ki a Ngāti Rangi e mea ana:
Kia hiwa rā!
Kia hiwa rā!
Katahi tonu nei a Ngāti Rangi ka whakaae, ka waitohu i tōna whakataunga Tiriti kua whakaingoatia ki a Rukutia te Mana. Tēnei te pō, nau mai te ao.
We are now at second base!
He oranga ngākau, he pikinga wairua.
Ka pō, ka ao, ka awatea, tihei mouri ora!

On Thursday 17 August 2017, at the Beehive in Wellington, a small group of representatives from Ngāti Rangi initialled a Deed of Settlement with the Crown in respect of Ngāti Rangi’s historical Treaty of Waitangi claims. The Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations, Hon Chris Finlayson, signed on behalf of the Crown.

Settlement Overview

The redress package is based on Ngāti Rangi’s settlement framework called Ngā Poupou o te Wharetoka (The Pinnacles of the House of Stone of Paerangi), which is named for Ngāti Rangi’s tupuna maunga Ruapehu. Ngā Poupou o te Wharetoka comprises six Poupou which are interlinked and which form the framework for the deed. The six Poupou are:

  • Te Matapihi (Partnership)
  • Hohourongo (Reconciliation)
  • Ngāti Rangitanga (Ngāti Rangi Nationhood)
  • Te Ao Tūroa (Environment)
  • Hauoratanga (Well-being)
  • Muramura Te Ahi (Prosperity).

The redress package includes:

  1. an agreed historical account, Crown acknowledgements of its breaches of te Tiriti/the Treaty and a Crown apology;
  2. cultural redress, including:
    1. Te Waiū-o-te-Ika Framework (Whangaehu River Catchment) redress, which will provide for:
      1. statutory recognition of Te Waiū-o-te-Ika, which recognises the river as a living and indivisible whole from Te Wai-ā-Moe to the sea;
      2. fresh arrangements for decision-making for the Whangaehu River focussed on the health and wellbeing of the River; and
      3. an entity made up of representatives of Ngāti Rangi as well as other iwi with interests in the River and local government representatives;
    2. Conservation redress, including:
      1. establishment of a joint committee consisting of members appointed by both Ngāti Rangi and the Department of Conservation, to manage conservation land within the Ngāti Rangi rohe;
      2. a seat on the Tongariro-Taupō Conservation Board on an interim basis;
      3. a defined place in the Tongariro-Taupō Conservation Management Strategy
    3. Crown minerals redress, including an acknowledgment of Ngāti Rangi’s relationship with with pākohe, onewa and matā and provision for members of Ngāti Rangi (with written authorisation from the post settlement governance entity) to access a defined area for the purpose of searching for and removing Crown owned pākohe, onewa and matā by hand
    4. a cultural fund of $167,000;
    5. vesting and gift-back of New Zealand Defence Force land near Waiouru (Irirangi), where certain land will vest in Ngāti Rangi, who will gift it back to the Crown 7 days later for the people of New Zealand;
    6. relationship redress; and
  3. financial and commercial redress, including $17M, made up of a combination of cash, commercial redress properties to transfer through the settlement (including Karioi forest land) as well as a range of rights of first refusal and deferred selection over specified Crown property.

Voting Arrangements:

All registered members of Ngāti Rangi (with known mailing addresses), who are 18 years and over, will be sent a ratification information pack by Saturday 30 September. Votes can be submitted by post (in the Freepost envelope enclosed in the ratification information pack), online at or by placing the voting form in the ballot box at any of the above hui. To register or update your contact details please contact the Trust office on (06) 385 9500 / 0800 NRANGI or before the close of voting at 5pm on Friday 3 November 2017. For voting enquiries please contact the election helpline on 0800 666 030, or email The voting period commences on Saturday 30 September 2017 and closes on Friday 3 November 2017 at 5pm.

Two resolutions will be voted on:

  1. I, as a member of Ngāti Rangi, support the Ngāti Rangi Deed of Settlement and authorise the trustees of the Ngāti Rangi Trust(1) to sign the Deed of Settlement on behalf of Ngāti Rangi.
  2. I, as a member of Ngāti Rangi, support the establishment of Te Tōtarahoe o Paerangi as the Post-Settlement Governance Entity to receive and manage the settlement redress on behalf of Ngāti Rangi under the Ngāti Rangi Deed of Settlement. Copies of the DOS and the Te Tōtarahoe o Paerangi Deed can be viewed at the Ngāti Rangi offices in Ohakune or at regional offices of Te Puni Kōkiri, and at or

(1) The trustees of the Ngāti Rangi Trust means the trustees of the Ngāti Rangi Trust as at the date the Ngāti Rangi Deed of Settlement is signed. The trustees of the Ngāti Rangi Trust will be the Initial Trustees of Te Tōtarahoe o Paerangi, the proposed Ngāti Rangi Post-Settlement Governance Entity.